Women’s Premier League: Tata acquires title sponsorship rights for the Women’s Premier League following the IPL.

Rate this post
 Women's Premier League

Women’s Premier League: According to Jay Shah, Secretary of the BCCI, “We are confident that we can take women’s cricket to the next level with the support of Tata Group.”

On Tuesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced Tata Group as the Women’s Premier League’s primary sponsor.

“I am delighted to announce that the #TataGroup will be the inaugural #WPL’s title sponsor. “We’re confident that we can take women’s cricket to the next level with their support,” BCCI Secretary Jay Shah tweeted.

Tata has signed a contract with WPL that will last for five years. The Indian multinational conglomerate took over as the IPL’s title sponsor the previous year.

For the Women’s IPL in 2008, BCCI received a total bid of Rs 4,669.99 crore, which was higher than for the Men’s IPL. Following the auction that was held in advance of the tournament’s debut season, which will take place in March of this year, bids to acquire the five women’s IPL teams were won by the Adani Group, Capri Global, and the owners of the men’s IPL teams Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Delhi Capitals, owners of IPL teams, made successful bids to join the WPL for Rs 912.99 crore, Rs 901 crore, and Rs 810 crore, respectively.

For Rs 757 crore, Capri Global Holdings acquired the Lucknow franchise.

The Women’s Premier League media rights were sold by BCCI to Viacom18 for Rs 951 crore, with a five-year value of Rs 7.09 crore per match.

Adani Group has secured a women’s team for the WPL, making its official entry into Indian cricket after failing to acquire an IPL team when the Lucknow and Ahmedabad franchises were up for sale in 2021.

Know More about Women’s IPL 2023

Leave a Comment