FIFA World cup 2022: List of all the winners from 1930 – 2018

Player playing football
Rate this post
Football player
A professional male soccer player dressed in red shirt, socks and white shorts kneeling with his arms up and fists clenched, shouting in celebration having just scored a goal.

To be allowed to represent their country on the biggest football stage in the world, about 190 to 200 national teams must win fierce competitions. Only 32 teams ultimately made it into the tournament. Being chosen to compete for your country in the FIFA World Cup is a significant accomplishment in and of itself, let alone winning it. Below is a list of every nation that has won the FIFA World Cup since it began in 1930.

List of all winners of FIFA World cup

YearHost NationWinnerRunner upFinal ScoreNumber of Teams
1954SwitzerlandWest GermanyHungary3-216
1966EnglandEnglandWest Germany4-216
1974West GermanyWest GermanyNetherlands2-116
1982SpainItalyWest Germany3-124
1986MexicoArgentinaWest Germany3-224
1990ItalyWest GermanyArgentina1-024
1994USABrazilItaly0-0 (3-2)24
2002South Korea/JapanBrazilGermany2-032
2006GermanyItalyFrance1-1 (5-3)32
2010South AfricaSpainNetherlands1-032

Last winners of FIFA world cup

winner of fifa world cup

From June 14 to July 15, 2018, Russia hosted the FIFA World Cup, an international football tournament involving men’s national teams. FIFA World Cup, an annual international football tournament, was in its 21st year. First held in Eastern Europe, the championships were held there for the eleventh time overall in Europe. With a projected cost of close to $14.2 billion, it was the most expensive World Cup to date.

32 teams participated in the tournament phase, of which 31 were selected in qualifying tournaments. The host country, Russia, qualified automatically. In 12 locations spread over 11 cities, 64 games were played. The reigning world champions, Germany, lost in the group stage. Russia, the tournament’s host, lost in the quarterfinals. At the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow on July 15, France took on Croatia in the championship game. France won their second World Cup after winning the game 4-2

The Golden Ball was awarded to Croatian footballer Luka Modri, who was chosen as the competition’s top performer. Harry Kane of England, who scored six goals throughout the competition, was awarded the Golden Boot. Thibaut Courtois of Belgium earned the Golden Glove, which is given to the goalkeeper with the most shutouts. The tournament’s attendance is expected to have exceeded 3 million. The 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia was exhilarating from start to finish. Numerous highlights from the 21st edition of the world championships will live on in the collective memory of those who cherish the beautiful game.

As millions of people gathered to take in what could only be described as a real festival of football, there were smiles and jubilation everywhere from Kaliningrad to Ekaterinburg, Saint Petersburg to Sochi. The first and only scoreless tie at Russia 2018 occurred after 36 games, which is the longest run for a single edition in history. There were plenty of goals. In what will go down as one of the most exciting World Cup finals ever, France defeated Croatia 4-2 to win the title for the second time in history and the first time since they served as hosts in 1998.

The first FIFA world cup

A young muscular Caucasian male walking in the rain at night in front of a stadium with stadium floodlights spotlights towards the competition near Cape Town South Africa
A young muscular Caucasian male walking in the rain at night in front of a stadium with stadium floodlights spotlights towards the competition near Cape Town South Africa

The first FIFA World Cup, a global competition for men’s national association football teams, was held in 1930. Uruguay hosted it from July 13 to July 30, 1930. Uruguay was chosen as the host country by FIFA, the world’s governing body of football, because the country would be commemorating the 100th anniversary of the adoption of its first constitution and because the Uruguayan national football team had successfully defended its football championship at the 1928 Summer Olympics. All games were held at the tournament’s home stadium, the Estadio Centenario, in Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay.

Thirteen teams joined the competition, including two from North America, four from Europe, and seven from South America. Due to the difficulties of traveling to South America, only a few European teams decided to compete. The teams were split up into four groups, and the group with the most points advanced to the semifinals. The United States and France won the first two World Cup games, which were played concurrently and were won by Mexico (4-1) and Belgium (3-0), respectively.

The first World Cup goal was scored by France’s Lucien Laurent, while Jimmy Douglas of the United States had the first tournament shutout on the same day. In order to go to the semi-finals, Argentina, Uruguay, the United States, and Yugoslavia all won their respective groups. In the championship match, Uruguay, the tournament’s hosts, and pre-tournament favorites beat Argentina 4-2 in front of 68,346 spectators to win the World Cup for the first time.

Which team won the maximum no. of FIFA trophies

A male soccer player makes a dramatic play by kicking a ball with his feet. The stadium is blurred behind him. It's sunny weather.
A male soccer player makes a dramatic play by kicking a ball with his feet. The stadium is blurred behind him. It’s sunny weather.

The most FIFA World Cup titles have been won by the men’s Brazil football team. Brazilian teams have won the World Cup five times in total: in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002. They are the only group that has participated in all 21 editions. Brazil, often known as “La Selecao,” is the most successful men’s team in World Cup history in terms of games played (109), games won (73) and goals scored (229). Legendary striker Pele rose to prominence in 1958 when Brazil won the championship for the first time.

 In that edition, he scored six goals, two of which came against Sweden in the championship game. The only person to date to accomplish this record is Pele, who won three FIFA World Cups in his remarkable career: in 1958, 1962, and 1970. Germany and Italy, who have won the trophy four times, are just behind Brazil on the list of most FIFA World Cup victories. Italy won it in 1934, 1938, 1982, and 2006, while Germany won it in 1954, 1974, 1990, and 2014. Three eras of Germany’s World Cup history may be distinguished: pre-World War II Germany, West Germany, and the current, reunified Germany. In the novels, all three are seen as a single country.

Leading goal scorer in world cup history

leading goalscorer in fifa world cup

Including penalties taken during shootouts, the 21 FIFA World Cup final events have seen more than 2,000 goals scored. More than 1,250 players have scored goals in World Cup final competitions since French player Lucien Laurent’s game-winning goal in the 1930 FIFA World Cup, although only 97 of them have done it with five or more goals. Guillermo Stábile of Argentina led all scorers in the first edition with eight goals. Since that time, only 22 players have scored more goals in all World Cup games combined than Stábile did in the 1930 competition

 Sándor Kocsis of Hungary took the top spot in 1954 with eleven. Only Fontaine of France improved on this mark in the next competition by scoring 13 goals in just six games. In 1970, Gerd Müller scored 10 goals for West Germany. In the 1974 World Cup final, when West Germany won, he scored his 14th goal, shattering the previous record. Prior to Cristiano Ronaldo scoring 15 goals for Brazil between 1998 and 2006, his record remained for more than three decades. Miroslav Klose of Germany went on to set a record by scoring 16 goals in four straight tournaments between 2002 and 2014.